Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Fair-Weather Thoughts

I have about a billion thoughts that have been running through my mind lately so I thought I'd just type out a few of my many thoughts.

Fair-Weather Friends:
Why can't there be more fair-weather friends? Or hurricane friends for that matter? Why are there people in the world that don't care about you when the times get rough yet they claim to be your friend? There are a few people in my life claiming to be my friend, yet they are only there when times are GREAT or when the friendship is only benefitting them. You know who you are. I'm about to have serious surgury you big jerks (ok that was immature, sorry), could you manage to be the slightest bit supportive??

From the Mouths of Babes:
My child is now picking up choice words and making his own sentence out of them. The other day my 2 1/2 year old had a REALLY gross pullup so I put him in the bath. A little while later he came running out stark naked, sticks his butt in the air at me and says, " MOMMY! I CLEANED MY OWN ASS!!" And my grandmother wonders why I tell her he's not ready for church!

Pride:
McCain needs to get over his ego problem and put Romney in the VP slot on his ticked. It's what's best to balance out the Republican ticket and really save this country. Why can't people get over themselves for 2 seconds to do what's right sometimes??

Holiday People?
Are there a lot of people in the world who don't give a darn about any holidays? Even their own birthdays? Today is Hubby's birthday, yes, April Fools day; his mom thought the drs. were joking about labor! SO I called him to say happy birthday and he just says, "Eh, thanks for reminding me." He claims him and his family are not "Holiday People" .... well, I'm a Holiday Person so to all of you out there who are a Grinch...I say " BAH HUMBUG!".

Age Restrictions:
There are currently so many age restrictions on the young, I think there should be age restrictions on the old. Seriously, a 90+ year old woman in the bank yesterday couldn't even function! She couldn't hear the lady at the counter and didn't understand what she was talking about at all. My biggest peeve is that people over a certain age should have to re-take the driving test. They make me absolutely bonkers on the road. Don't get me wrong, I love our senior citizens, but even my grandmother agrees with me on this subject!

AHHHH...REST!:
So I'm in the hospital yesterday having my testing done and I got to lay on a table, was tucked in with pillows and blankets and THEN was given Morphine. It was seriously the most rest I've gotten in the last 7 years...since I started having kids. That should be a required outing for moms at least once a month. I informed the tech I'd be back next week.

Thought for the day:
No matter how bad off you are, there's always someone out there who's got it worse. After my bad news about emergency surgury yesterday, I'm trying to stitch this thought into my brain.

Have a great day!

Thursday, February 28, 2008

I'm crying hysterically....

But not for the reason you may think. I just read the funniest thing I've read in a long time and I thought I'd share...

*This is an actual letter from an Austin woman sent to American company Proctor and Gamble regarding their feminine products. She really gets rolling after the first paragraph. It’s PC Magazine’s 2007 editors’ choice for best webmail-award-winning letter.*

Dear Mr. Thatcher,

I have been a loyal user of your ‘Always’ maxi pads for over 20 years and I appreciate many of their features. Why, without the LeakGuard Core or Dri-Weave absorbency, I’d probably never go horseback riding or salsa dancing, and I’d certainly steer clear of running up and down the beach in tight, white shorts. But my favorite feature has to be your revolutionary Flexi-Wings. Kudos on being the only company smart enough to realize how crucial it is that maxi pads be aerodynamic. I can’t tell you how safe and secure I feel each month knowing there’s a little F-16 in my pants.

Have you ever had a menstrual period, Mr. Thatcher? Ever suffered from the curse’? I’m guessing you haven’t. Well, my time of the month is starting right now. As I type, I can already feel hormonal forces violently surging through my body. Just a few minutes from now, my body will adjust and I’ll be transformed into what my husband likes to call ‘an inbred hillbilly with knife skills.’ Isn’t the human body amazing?

As Brand Manager in the Feminine-Hygiene Division, you’ve no doubt seen quite a bit of research on what exactly happens during your customers monthly visits from ‘Aunt Flo’. Therefore, you must know about the bloating, puffiness, and cramping we endure, and about our intense mood swings, crying, jags, and out-of-control behaviour. You surely realize it’s a tough time for most women. In fact, only last week, my friend Jennifer fought the violent urge to shove her boyfriend’s testicles into a George Foreman Grill just because he told her he thought Grey’s Anatomy was written by drunken chimps. Crazy!

The point is, sir, you of all people must realize that America is just crawling with homicidal maniacs in Capri pants… Which brings me to the reason for my letter. Last month, while in the throes of cramping so painful I wanted to reach inside my body and yank out my uterus, I opened an Always maxi-pad, and there, printed on the adhesive backing, were these words: ‘Have a Happy Period.’

Are you fu*ing kidding me? What I mean is, does any part of your tiny middle-manager brain really think happiness - actual smiling, laughing happiness is possible during a menstrual period? Did anything mentioned above sound the least bit pleasurable? Well, did it, James? FYI, unless you’re some kind of sick S&M freak girl, there will never be anything ‘happy’ about a day in which you have to jack yourself up on Motrin and Kahlua and lock yourself in your house just so you don’t march down to the local Walgreen’s armed with a hunting rifle and a sketchy plan to end your life in a blaze of glory.

For the love of God, pull your head out, man! If you just have to slap a moronic message on a maxi pad, wouldn’t it make more sense to say something that’s actually pertinent, like ‘Put down the Hammer’ or ‘Vehicular Manslaughter is Wrong’, or are you just picking on us?

Sir, please inform your Accounting Department that, effective immediately, there will be an $8 drop in monthly profits, for I have chosen to take my maxi-pad business elsewhere. And though I will certainly miss your Flex-Wings, I will not for one minute miss your brand of condescending bull sh*t. And that’s a promise I will keep. Always.

Best,
Wendi Aarons
Austin , TX

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Scattergories

I've done this on Myspace before but I'll do this one here:
This is scattergories. You take the first letter of your name and answer the following:

What is your name....................Jessica
4 Letter word........................Just
Vehicle..............................Jaguar
City.................................Jacksonville
Boy Name.............................James
Girl Name............................Jennifer
Alcoholic Drink......................Jose Cuervo
Occupation...........................Janitor
Something you wear...................Jacket
Celebrity............................Jenna Jamison
Food.................................Jalapeno
Something found in a bathroom........Jewelry
Reason for being late................Jumped someone's car for them
Cartoon Character....................Jessica Rabbit
Something you shout..................JESUS! Ok, you shouldn't but people do.
Animal...............................Jack rabbit
Body part............................Joint
Word to describe you.................Just (yes, as in fair)

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Prayer For The Day

Today my daily parenting Prayer book reads:

"Lord, thank You that I can partner with You in raising my child and that I don't have to do it alone. I'm greatful that I can have clear directions from Your Word and wisdom as I pray to You for answers."

Reflection:

I don't think I pray enough to God regarding the upbringing of my children so therefore Im not hearing any answers. This is a time when I'm in desperate need of answers. My daughter is teething so she's fussy all the time. My 2 year old son is VERY 2 at the moment and has been extremely defiant on purpose lately. AND, my 6 year old is struggling in school and at the same time having a power struggle with my 2 year old.

I'm honestly starting to believe having children is a lot like juggling. One: super easy. It's very easy to keep your eye on one ball. Two: a little tougher. On a good day, with good concentration you can do well with 2, even though sometimes you may drop the ball. Three: you have to have talent and LOTS of practice. I am VERY much still in practice mode, but I feel like one day I may get the hang of it!

My challenge to you: Work full time, keep a 3000sf house clean, keep your spouse happy 90% of the time....all while juggling 3 balls!

Saturday, February 23, 2008

What Holiday Are You?

I've decided on weekends I'm going to post 1 or 2 random answers to surveys I've taken so you can get to know me. These are fun and often tell the truth about you!

The first quiz I took was...what holiday are you? The answer fits me to a tee!...




You Are Christmas



More than most people, you are able to find magic in life's small moments.

Traditions mean a lot to you, and you tend to be quite nostalgic.

You are a giving, kind person who really understands the true meaning of holidays.

You inspire others to be as altruistic and caring as you are.



What makes you celebrate: Tradition and a generous spirit



At holiday get togethers, you do best as: The storyteller. You like to recount memories with everyone.



On a holiday, you're the one most likely to: Give a gift to everyone you know

Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow

Sorry it's been almost a week since I last posted on here. I've had a different focus lately that takes precedence over blogging about trivial things. I've started to blog about my journey into weight loss. Within 2 days time it went from being something I was just moved to do, do a doctor's order. I suppose it is better off in the long run that I was moved to do it first though, now hopefully I'll have more than an order to do it, I'll have the drive I need inside me.

Nothing too much new going on in the world of me. My 2 sons have been absolute terror the last week or two and so it's amusing my husband has been calling me about 5-6pm every day just to make sure I haven't killed them or myself. I've also been trying to leave my baby girl with the babysitter a little more often so she can get used to being near someone else and not get so upset when I put her down for 2 seconds. I know I've spoiled her since she was born, but honestly it's ok. The boys never took to me like she has so it really means a lot.

Let's see, what else? I still hate my 9-5 and have really been focusing a lot of time lately into getting my life set up so that when my 83 year old boss finally retires, I can do something to where I can stay home more often and bring in the same income. I think between my jewelry and pampered chef and a part time job so I can get out of the house for my sanity, I can do it.

On a humerous note...my cat has turned into a dog. He meow's very loudly when he wants to be let outside and then he patiently sits by the door pawing the window when he wants to be let in. The other weekend someone on my street was having a yard sale and so I walked down there to see what they were selling. The cat followed me all the way down there and then as I was looking he sat at the end of their drive way waiting for me and then followed me back. When I got to give him food he actually leaps off of all 4 legs straight in the air.

Here's to another crazy day!

Sunday, February 17, 2008

And the pain sets in...

I'm sitting here so badly waiting for my pain to pass in hopes that I can get rid of it enough to be able to take myself to church. These are the days I sit here and wonder, "Why did I have my back surgury?"

Friday night I called the babysitter and treated myself to a manicure and pedicure. I've been under a lot of stress these last couple weeks and I was really feeling it on Friday. Both manicure and pedicure come with awesome massages and the pedicure is fantastic because you get to sit in the massage chair, which is fantastic because it feels very real. I think that's what did it though. I had turned up the intensity a little this time and I think it may have been too much for me. But why am I only feeling it 2 days later? Weird. Anyway, they added a new treatment to the pedicure section. You now get the paraffin treatment which inclues and extra leg massage. It felt WONDERFUL. AND as I was leaving, they brought in a new wine cooler and informed me that next time I come in, they'll be offering wine to everyone! YEAY! They are truly awesome in there. The salon name is VIP Nails and they are truly living up to their name, and they have some of the best prices.

Well, I guess if this pain doesnt go away I'm going to watch Mass on TV. I took a pill but now if the pain does go away I may be a little too woozy to drive myself anywhere.

Guess this gives me something else to pray about...Have a great Sunday!